Transcript of the will of Thomas French 1794

Thomas French (Abt. 1731 – 1798) is one of my 6th great grandfathers.

He was married to Mary “Finey”(Finney) the daughter, I believe of William Finney and Alice Bulkly, at All Saints, Runcorn, Cheshire, England on the 5th February 1747.

Thomas and Mary had at least 6 children born in Cheshire – Margaret, Joshua/Joseph (my line), Isaac, Mary, Shadrack and Sarah.

Thomas died in March 1798 and was buried at Aston by Sutton, Cheshire, England on the 26th March 1798.

This is the last Will and Testament of me Thomas French of Sutton in the Parish of Runcorn and County of Chester Labourer made the fourth Day of January in the year of our Lord one Thousand seven hundred and ninety four

First I desire and direct that all my just debts funeral Expenses and for the Probate of this my will be paid and discharged out of my Personal Estate by my Executrix herein after named Also I give and bequeath unto my Daughter Sarah Wife of Robert Shingler of Aston in the said County of Chester Carpenter my son Joshua my son Shadrach and my daughter Mary wife of George Dunbabin of Halton in the said County each the sum of one Shilling to be Paid to them respectively Immediately after my decease (and)

as to all the rest residue and remainder of my Personal Estate and Effects whatsoever and wheresoever the same shall happen to be at the time of my Death I give and Bequeath the same unto my dear wife Mary French Her Executors administrators & assigns for ever and lastly I do hereby nominate constitute and appoint my said wife Executrix Timothy Lamb Weaverham in the said County of Chester Husbandman Executor of this my will hoping and not Doubting that they will see the same carefully Performed and declare this to be my last will and Testament

In Witness whereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal the Day and year above written.

[Thos. French signature] [Seal]

[Jno. Redish signature]

[Thos. Smith signature]

[John Earl signature]

 

Leave a Reply

