Ann Hough (1850 – 1903)

Until a couple of days ago, I was a little bit puzzled as to what happened to my 3rd great grandmother, Ann Hough, after her appearance with her husband, George Pointon, and family, in the 1881 census “Near Royal Oak”, Knutton, Staffordshire, England.

George had appeared in the 1891 census as married, at Vale Pleasant, Knutton, Staffordshire, an ironstone miner.

I found George Pointon’s death, caused by injuries due to an accident at the Harrison and Woodburn Pit, Leycett in 1894, however it puzzled me why I could not find any mention of Ann.

I had been searching for a possible death, with no luck, but then turned my attention to a possible marriage, and found it!

Ann Pointon, the daughter of John Hough (and Elizabeth Jones), a widow, married John Lloyd, a batchelor and a miner, father Edward, at Holy Trinity, Sneyd, Staffordshire on the 26th June 1894.

I found John and Ann Lloyd on the 1901 census at Tunstall, Staffordshire, with a son, John B(luch) Lloyd, born in about 1888.  John Bluch Lloyd was born in 1887, and the mother’s maiden name was Hough.

The puzzle of where Ann was in 1891 had been cleared up, she was listed as Ann Lloyd in that year’s census, living with her future husband and son.

I also found the death registered in 1903 of Ann Lloyd.

So, not only had I discovered what happened to Ann, I had also found a new 3rd great uncle, I had never heard about before.

Moral of the story, if you think someone might have died, try checking for a marriage first.  I certainly will.

Leave a Reply

