Transcript of the will of Agnes Burrow

Agnes Burrow, nee Cartmell is a 7th great grandmother.   Agnes Cartmell married James Burrow, son of William Burrow and Mary Garnett on the 12th June 1750 at Crosthwaite, Westmorland.

The daughter of Isaac Cartmell, and Agnes Barrow was baptised at Crosthwaite on the 7th February 1731/32, and was one of 7 children that i’m aware of, the others being Mary (died as a child), John, James, Isaac, Mary and Ann.

James and Agnes Burrow had 9 children, Mary, Elizabeth, William, James (my line), Isaac, Mary, Joseph, Agnes and John.

Agnes, of Tarnside in Crosthwaite died on the 16th July 1810 and was buried at St. Mary, Crosthwaite.  Her will is dated the 26th September 1806, and the will was proved on the 16th January 1811.

In the name of God amen – I agnes Burrow of Tarnside in Crosthwaite in the parish of Heversham in Westmorland, widow being of sound mind memory and understanding, praised be to God for the same, but considering the uncertainty of life do make publish and declare this my last will and testament in manner following, that is to say

– First it is my will and mind that my body be decently buried in the chapel of crosthwaite near my late husband, in much the same manner that he was and that my funeral expenses and just debts be paid by my executrix hereinafter named, and as to the property wherewith it has pleased God to bless me I dispose of as follows –

First I give and bequeath unto my grand daughter Agnes Vasey now or late of Bustletown in America the sum of twenty pounds, also I give and bequeath unto my son James Burrow of Crosthwaite Green the sum of five pounds,

both which legacys it is my will and mind shall be paid at the end of twelve months after my decease by my executrix hereinafter named, all the rest residue and remainder of my money, securities for money, household furniture, wearing apparel and personal property, I give and bequeath unto my daughter Agnes the wife of William Field of Church in the parish of Cartmel in Lancashire,

on condition that she give unto my grand daughter Agnes Vasey/Nasey all my household goods and wearing apparel, provided she arrive in England within seven years from the time of my death as I apprehend should that happen she will have great occasion for them, and I nominate and appoint my said daughter Agnes Field executrix of this my last will and testament. In witness whereof I have set my hand and seal this twenty sixth day of September one thousand eight hundred and six.

Signed sealed published and declared by the said testatrix as and for her last will and testament in the presence of us, who in her presence, at her request and in the presence of each other have hereunto subscribed our names as witnesses:

 

James Cartmell

Nancy Cartmell

Dorothy Green

 

On the sixteenth day of January in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and eleven this will was proved in common form and Agnes Field the now wife of William Field of Church Town in the parish of Cartmel in the county of Lancaster, shopkeeper, sole executrix therein named was sworn well and faithfully to execute and perform the same and so forth and that to the best of her knowledge, and belief the whole of the personal estate and effects of which the testatrix within named died possessed on the sixteenth day of July last, within the archdeaconry of Richmond in the diocese of Chester, did not in real value amount to the sum of two hundred and forty pounds.

 

Before me

John Bramwell.

Leave a Reply

