Transcript of the will of James Barrow

James Barrow signature and seal 2nd July 1745James Barrow is one of my nine times great grandparents.  He was a yeoman who lived at Broad Oak, in Crosthwaite, Westmorland.  James had been married twice;  The first time to an Ellin Robinson at Ulverston on the 22nd July 1684.  The second, to Agnes Townson, daughter of Thomas Townson and Agnes Garnett on the 12th February 1696/7 by licence.  James listed as a widower aged 35, Agnes aged 24 a spinster.  The Bondsman being Richard  Barrow

James and Ellin had at least two children, Margaret and Elizabeth, born in about 1684 and 1693 respectively.

James and Agnes had at least three children, James baptised at Crosthwaite in 1699, Agnes (my line) baptised in 1702 married Isaac Cartmel(l), and Mary, baptised in 1705.

James died in 1747, and was buried at St. Mary’s Crosthwaite on the 1st June that year.  His will is dated 2nd July 1745, which was proved by the oaths of Miles Strickland, Isaac Cartmel and Robert Atkinson on the 29th June 1747 following an inventory, taken on the 2nd June 1747.

As with all transcripts on here, i’ve kept the spelling and grammar as per the original documents, but separated the text into paragraphs for easier reading:

In the Name of God Amen I James Barrow of Broad Oak in Crosthwaite in the County of Westmoreland Yeoman, Do make and ordain this my Last Will and Testament in Manner and Form following (That is to say)

First, I do hereby Give and Bequeath unto each of my Grand Children which now are or shall be born within the Space of Twelve Months next after my Decease the Sum of Three Pounds a piece, to be paid them so soon after my Decease as conveniently may be:

To my Three Sons in Law, Myles Strickland Isaac Cartmel and Robert Atkinson, I do hereby likewise Give and Bequeath all the rest and residue of my Goods Chattles and Personal Estate whatsoever and do make and appoint them joint Executors of this my Last Will and Testament they paying thereout not only the Legacies abovementioned, as also all my just Debts and Funeral Expenses, but likewise I do hereby Will and Order my said Executors to pay One Fourth Part of the Neat amount of my said Personal Estate after the abovementioned Legacies, just Debts and funeral Expenses are paid and Discharged unto my Grand Children, children of William Townson late of Law in Lythe deceased in manner following,

Namely, I will that my said Executors do so soon after my Decease as conveniently may be pay one Third of the said one Fourth part of my said personal Estate unto Thomas Townson my Grandson and the remainder of the said One Fourth Part equally to and amongst his the said Thomas Townson’s Brothers and Sisters Share and Share alike

In witness whereof I the said James Barrow the Testator have to this my Last Will and Testament put my Hand and Seal this Second Day of July in  the year of our Lord Christ One Thousand Seven Hundred and Forty Five____

Signed Sealed Published and Declared by the above named Testator as and for his Last Will and Testament (the words Strickland, Isaac Cartmel and Robert Atkinson I do, being first Interlined) in the Sight and presence of us who subscribed our Names as Witnesses thereunto in the said Testator’s Presence.

James Barrow (Signature) [Seal]

Robert Dickinson

Thomas Walker

J Hunter

 

 

Leave a Reply

