Transcript of the will of Edmund Coxhead

The mark of Edmund Coxhead 1781Edmund Coxhead (Surname variants appearing in documents at various times through this family including Cockshead, Cockshutt, Cockshoot, Cockshott, Cockshot, Cockshut, Coxed, Coxsed and Cockside) is one of my seventh great grandfathers, via his son, John and his wife, Alice Harrington.

Edmund was born in about 1709, and is listed on the 1767 papist returns/resusants rolls for Scarisbrick as a husbandman aged 58.

To date no baptism has been found for Edmund, but through naming traditions and others living in the area, we can say with a certain amount of certainty that his parents were most likely James Cockshead and Margaret Morecroft, who married at St. Peter and St. Paul, Ormskirk on the 20th December 1703.    We know that he married Ellen Hesketh at Walton on the Hill, Lancashire on the 14th November 1730.  At the time of their marriage both were of the parish of Ormskirk.

Edmund died in the December of 1781 aged about 72, and was buried at St. Peter and St. Paul, Ormskirk, Lancashire on the 26th December 1781.

His will was made on the 14th April 1781, and probate was granted to Ellen, George and Thomas Coxhead in 1782.

In the name of God Amen I Edmund Coxhead of Scarisbrick in the county of Lancaster yeomanbeing of sound mind memory and understanding (Blessed be Almighty God for the same) do for the settling my temporal concerns make and publish this my last will and testament in manner and form following.  (that is to say)

First I order and direct that all my just debts funeral expenses and the charge of the probate hereof shall be paid and discharged out of my personal estate and after payment thereof respectively I give and bequeath to my loving wife Ellen Coxhead the legacy or sum of two hundred and fifty pounds of lawfull British money and to be paid to her her executors and administrators out of my personal estate within six calendar months next after my death.

I also give to my said wife such and so many of my household goods and furniture as she shall chuse to accept of to and for her own distinct use and benefit for ever and I order and direct that such household goods and furniture as my said wife shall take for her self shall not be subject or liable to the payment of my debts funeral or other expenses or the legacies afore and after mentioned or any of them or any part thereof.    I give and bequeath unto my sons George Coxhead John Coxhead Thomas Coxhead and William Coxhead the legacy or sum of forty pounds a piece to be paid to them their executors and administrators out of my personal estate within twelve calendar months next after my decease.  I give to my daughter Anne Coxhead the sum of thirty pounds to be paid to her her executors and administrators out of my said personal estate in two calendar months next after my decease.

I give to my grandson James Linekar the sum of five pounds to be paid to him when he shall attain the age of twenty one years.  I give and bequeath to my executors herein after named the sum of thirty pounds upon trust and confidence that they and the survivors and survivor of them and the ex ors and admors of such survivor do and shall pay to my daughter Alice Linekar wife of James Linekar of Scarisbrick aforesaid labourer the sum of forty shillings a year only (without interest) untill the whole of the said sum of thirty pounds last mentioned shall be run up and fully disbursed and paid the first payment thereof to commence and be made at the end of twelve months next after my decease and after the death of my said daughter Alice and the said James Linekar her present husband shall happen to survive her and the whole of the said sum of thirty pounds shall not be then run up and paid.

Then upon trust and confidence that my said executors and the survivors and survivor of them and the exors and admors of such survivor do and shall pay to my said son in law James Linekar the like sum of forty shillings a year out of the residue of the said sum of thirty pounds which shall be undisbursed and unpaid at the death of my said daughter Alice –

And after the decease of the said James Linekar my son in law and the whole of the same sum of thirty pounds shall not be then run up and discharged then upon trust to pay out of the residue of the said sum of thrity pounds the like sum of forty shillings a year unto and amongst the child and children of the said James Linekar begotten or to be begotten upon the body of my said daughter Alice equally share and share alike until such residue shall be fully disbursed and paid and to and for no other use intent or purpose whatsoever.

I also give and bequeath unto my said wife Ellen and my said sons George Coxhead and Thomas Coxhead all that my leasehold messuage and tenement with the apputenances and the several closes and parcels of land theretobelonging situate and being in Scarisbrick aforesaid which I some years since purchased from the said James Linekar my son in law to hold to them their heirs exors admors and assigns from the june of my decease for and during all my farm estate and interest therein or thereunto upon special trust and confidence that they my said trustees and the survivors and survivor of them and the exors and admors of such survivor do and shall as soon as conveniently may be after my decease sell and absolutely dispose of the said messuage tenement lands hereditaments and premises and every part thereof for the most money and best price that can be reasonably had or gotten for the same and the money arising by sale thereof do and shall divide distribute and pay unto and amongst my son James Coxhead and my said sons and daughter George John Thomas William and Anne and their respective exors and admors equally share and share alike and not otherwise.

And I order and direct that my said trustees and the survivors and survivor of them his or her exors and admors shall and may retain and satisfy out of my estate and effects all reasonable and necessary costs and expenses which he she or they shall pay sustain or expend in the execution of the trust hereby created or anything relative thereto.

I also give to my said sons and daughter George John Thomas William and Anne the sum of four pounds ten shillings a piece to be paid to them within twelve months next after my death out of the part or share of my estate and effects herein before and herein after by me given to or intended for my said son James Coxhead and I do direct my executors to retain deduct and pay the same out of such share as my said son James shall take and be entitled to under this my will any thing herein contained to the contrary notwithstanding.

And all the rest residue and remainder of my personal estate and effects of what nature or sort soever I give and bequeath to my said sons James George John and William and my said daughter Anne and their respective exors and admors share and share alike.

And lastly I do hereby revoke and make void all former wills by me made and do nominate and appoint my said wife Ellen and my said sons George Coxhead and Thomas Coxhead executors and executrix of this my last will and testament.  In witness whereof I the said Edmund Coxhead the said testator have hereunto set my hand to the first two sheets and to the last my hand and seal this fourteenth day of April in the year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and eighty one.

The Letter or Mark of

[Mark]  [Seal]

Edmund Coxhead

Mary Irving

Susanna Cropper

John Smith

 

 

2 thoughts on “Transcript of the will of Edmund Coxhead”

Leave a Reply

