Transcript of the will of John Coxhead

The mark of John CoxheadJohn Coxhead is one of my 6 times great grandparents.  He was born in Scarisbrick, Lancashire, England in about 1749 to Edmund and Ellen (nee Hesketh).

John showed up on the 1767 recusants register in Scarisbrick with the rest of his family aged 18.   He married Alce Harrington at St. Peter and St. Paul, Ormskirk on the 21st September 1775, and the couple had 8 children that I am aware of.  My line is via their son, also called John, born in Lathom and baptised at St. Anne’s Roman Catholic church, Ormskirk in 1783.

John Coxhead, a farmer of Scarisbrick, died in March 1806, was buried at St. Peter and Paul, Ormskirk on the 8th March 1806, and probate was issued on the 22nd July 1806.

In the Name of God Amen I John Coxhead of Scarisbrick in the county of Lancaster Farmer being of sound mind, thanks to almighty God, do make and publish this my last will and Testament (that is to say) First I order all my just Debts funeral Expences and the Charge of the probate, hereof to be paid out of my Estate. I give to my loving wife Alice All my personal Estate and Effects of what nature or sort soever during the Term of her natural life if she keeps in my name but if she marry again to a second Husband Then I only give her the sum of Five pounds. And if she should happen to die before my son Thomas and my daughter Ellen arrives to the age of Twenty one years Then I give to each of them the sum of Five pounds a year untill they come to that age.

I give to my son John one of my Horses such as he shall think proper and Gears suitable to it after the Death of said wife.

And after the Death of my said wife or my said son Thomas and Daughter Ellen coming to the age of Twenty one years Then I order and direct my executors hereinafter mentioned to sell and dispose of All my personal Estate and Effects whatsoever not herein before disposed of for the most money that can be reasonably got for the same and the money ariseing by such sale or disposition together with all my ready money out at Interest to divide equally share and share alike amongst my children (that is to say) to Jane Moss wife of John Moss of Lathom in the said County Husbandman to my said son John to my Daughter Elizabeth to my son Edmund to my said son Thomas and my Daughter Ellen. And lastly I do hereby revoke all former wills by me heretofore made and do nominate constitute and appoint my said wife Executrix and my said sons John and Edmund Executors of this my true last Will and Testament.

In Witness whereof I have hereunto put my hand and seal the Eighth day February in the year of our Lord one thousand Eight Hundred and six.

Signed Sealed published and declared by the said testator as and for his last Will and Testament in the presence of us who have hereunto put our names in his sight and presence and in the presence of each other.

The mark of John Coxhead.

William Culshaw

Wm. Wainwright

The 22nd day of July 1806 Alice Coxhead the Executrix named was sworn in common Form, power being reserved to John Coxhead & Edmund Coxhead the Executors therein named to take upon them the Execution of the said will when they shall lawfully request the same.

before me

James Stanley Surrogate

and Alice Coxhead the executrix further made Oath that the personal Estate & Effects of the Testator within the Diocese of Chester were under the value of 200 £

before me

James Stanley Surrogate

The Testator died the 6th day of March 1806

Probate issued Dated 22nd July 1806

2 thoughts on “Transcript of the will of John Coxhead”

Leave a Reply

