Transcript of the will of Jane Dale

Jane Dale her markJane Dale, the widow of John Dale, died in 1768 and was buried at St. James, Audley, Staffordshire, England on the 3rd November 1768.

John and Jane are one set of my 8th great grandparents via their son, Abel.  Abel’s daughter, Jane and her husband, Randle Pointon are my line.

Jane’s will was proven on the 25th November 1768.

Spelling and grammar as per the original, however I have divided the transcript up for easier reading:

In the Name of God Amen:  The Last Will and Testament of Jane Dale in the Parish of Audley in the County of Stafford Widdow made the Thirtieth Day of June and in year of our Lord one Thousand Seven hundred and fifty nine:

First my Mind and Will is that all my just Debts and funeral Expenses be paid and satisfied with all Convenient Speed after my Decease and then I give to my Sons Abel and John and Sarah my Daughter Each of Them one Shilling having given Them their portion before

Item:  I give to my Son Joseph and to my Daughters Rebecca and Hannah all my Horse Gears as Chains Saddles Collers and all other Necessaries thereinto belonging:  and my Clock that I Lent my Son John and even all the rest residue and remainder of my personal Estate whether of Goods or of Money of what nature Kind or Denomination soever the same Equally to be Divided amongst Them share and share alike

and if any of them Die leaving no Child the Survivor or Survivors of Them to have Their Share so Dying

and Lastly I do Nominate constitute and appoint my Son Joseph and my Daughter Rebecca Executor and Executrix of this my Last Will and Testament hereby revoking all former Will or Wills by me made

In Witness whereof I have hereunto put my Hand and Seal the Day and Year first above Written.

Signed Sealed Published and Declared by the Testatrix as Her Last Will and TestamentIn the Presence of us who subscribed Our Names in the said Testatrix’s Presence

Jane [X] Dale

Her mark [seal]

Samuel Clowes

Ricd. Warham

Richard Hamilton

1 thought on “Transcript of the will of Jane Dale”

Leave a Reply

