Transcript of the will of Abel Dale

Signature of Abel DaleAbel Dale, the son of John and Jane,  is one of my 7 times great grandparents.  He married twice,  to Ann Smith, at Audley, Staffordshire in 1750, then to Sarah Booker, also at Audley, in 1756.

Abel died in 1804, and was buried at St. James, Audley on the 4th March 1804.

His will was proved on the 24th April 1804.

Spellings and grammar as per the original, except for the paragraphs, which are there for easier reading.

In the Name of God Amen- I Abel Dale of Audley in the County of Stafford Yeoman, being of sound and Disposing mind, memory & understanding (praised be God) do make and ordain this my last will and Testament in manner and form following,

That is to say, I recommend my soul to God who made it, and my Body to the Earth to be decently Buried at the discretion of my Executors hereinafter named,-And as to my worldly affairs I direct as follows

First I will and direct that my Just debts and Funeral Expenses be forthwith paid and discharged,  I give and bequeath to Elizabeth Darlington my daughter the wife of John Darlington the sum of Ten Shillings – I also give and bequeath to my daughter Hannah Beech the sum of Ten Shillings

and all the residue of my Estate whether personal actual of what Nature or Kind whatsoever.  I give and bequeath unto my son in Law Renwell Steel and my Son in Law Randle Pointon their Heirs Executors Administrators and Assigns share and Share Alike –

And I do hereby nominate and Appoint the said Renwall Steel and the Said Randle Pointon Executors of this my last Will and Testament hereby revoking all former Will and Wills by me heretofore made and declare this to be my last.  In witness, whereof I have hereunto set my hand and Seal this Fifth day of May in the Year of our Lord One Thousand Eight Hundred and Two —

Signed Sealed published and declared by the said Testator Abel Dale as and for his last Will and Testament in the Presence of us and in the presence of Each Other have Subscribed our Names as Witnesses —

Abel Dale [Signature and Seal]

Edwd. Eardley

Benjn. Eardley

 

 

2 thoughts on “Transcript of the will of Abel Dale”

Leave a Reply

