Transcript of the will of William Burrow

Tarnsidefarmcrosthwaite
Tarnside, Crosthwaite, Westmorland

William Burrow is one of my 8 times great grandparents.  He lived in Crosthwaite, Westmorland, England, a place I was lucky enough to have been able to visit a few years ago now.

William was the son of James Burrow and Jennet Swenson, baptised at St. Mary, Crosthwaite on the 18th November 1694.  Their son, James and his wife, Agnes Cartmell are my 7th great grandparents via their son, James and, and his wife, Elizabeth Atkinson.

And so, the transcript…….

In the name of God Amen I William Burrow of Tarnside in Crosthwaite in the parish of Heversham & county of Westmorland, yeoman being sick of Body yet of sound & disposing mind & memory, praised be God for the same do make this my last Will & Testament in manner & form following,

first I commend my Soul into the Hands of Almighty God my maker hoping through the merrits of Jesus Christ my Saviour & Redeemer to have forgiveness of my sins & to Inherit Eternal life and my Body I committ to the Ground to be ……….(?) Interred by my Executrix hereinafter named and as touching such Temporal Estate as it hath pleased God to bless me with I Give & Dispose thereof as followeth (that is to say) all that my messuage & Tenement att Tarnside in Crosthwaite afores:d with all its Hereditaments & appurtenances whatsoever thereunto belonging I give unto my loving wife Mary Untill my son James attains to the age of Twenty Four if he live so long if not to the time he would have attained that age

She bringing up and maintaining my Children out of the profitts of the said  & Tenement untill that time and after the Expiration of the said Term I give all that my said Messuage & Tenement unto my son James Burrow & his heirs forever allowing my said Wife one third part of the profitts thereof for her Widdow right according to Custom and it is my will & mind that my said son James pay out of my said Messuage & Tenemt: to him bequeathed the sum of Two Hundred and ten pounds in Manner following (that is to say) to my son Joseph Burrow & his heirs the sum fifty pounds & to my son Isaac Burrow & his Heirs the like sum of fifty pounds & to my Daughter Elizabeth Burrow & her Heirs the like sum of fifty pounds within Twelve Months after his Entrance into the said Estate and also that he pay the further sum of sixty pounds the Remainder of the Two Hundred & Ten pounds to my said three children Joseph Isaac & Elizabeth or their heirs equally amongst them within one year after my wife’s decease.

But if any of my said three Children Joseph Isaac & Elizabeth dye leaving no lawfull Issue it is my will & mind that their share of the Two Hundred & ten pounds as it becomes Due shall be equally divided amongst all my Surviving Children and further it is my will & mind that if my son James dies before he attains the age of Twenty One leaving no lawfull Issue then I Give & bequeath my said Messuage & Tenement to my son Joseph and his heirs for ever he or they paying out of the same the sum of One Hundred and Seventy Pounds within one year after his or their Entrance thereunto to my Son Isaac & to my Daughter Elizabeth or their Heirs equally betwixt them.

Lastly all my Goods Chattels & Personal Estate whatsoever I do give and bequeath unto my loving wife Mary whom I do make Sole Executrix of this my last Will she paying all my Debts & funerall Expenses  Supervisers in trust of this my last Will & testament I nominate & appoint my Brother James Burrow my Brother in law Robert Garnett & Tobias Atkinson hoping that they will to the utmost of their power see this my will performed and I give to Each of them five shillings  And I do hereby revoke all other wills preceeding the Date hereof and Ratifie Confirm & Declare this to be my last Will & Testament  In Witness whereof I the said William Burrow have hereunto sett my hand & seall this Twenty second day of September in the year of Our Lord One Thousand Seven hundred & forty three.

Signed Sealed & Declared by the Testator to be his last Will and Testamt: in the sight & presence of us & by is attested in his presence (the Words profitts of the in the 11th: line & same the in the 24th line being first interlined) before the sealing hereof….

William Burrow’s mark and seal.

Daniel Robinson

Agnes Garnett

Tobias Atkinson

2 thoughts on “Transcript of the will of William Burrow”

Leave a Reply

