Transcript of the will of Hugh Sephton

Father (5)
My great grandfather, Hugh Sephton’s 4th great grandson, William Bibby

Hugh Sephton is my 7 times great grandfather, via his daughter, Ruth.  Hugh died in February 1793, and is buried at All Saints, Rainford, Lancashire, England.

Ruth Sephton was baptised at Rainford in 1756, and married William Glover (a husbandman) in 1773.

William and Ruth’s son, Hugh, is my line.  His daughter, Ruth Glover, born in Dalton, near Wigan in 1804 gave birth to my 3 times great grandfather, William Owen Bibby, on the 11 March 1845.

William Owen Bibby and Helen/Ellen Mousdel’s son, Francis Bibby, was born in York Street, St. Helens in 1874 and he married Ellen Cundliffe at St. Peter, Parr, in 1895.

Their son, my great grandfather, William Bibby, was born on the 26 April 1901 in Tickle Street, Parr.

The transcript of Hugh Sephton’s will…….

I Hugh Sephton of Rainford in the County of Lancaster, yeoman, do this seventeenth day of October in the year of our Lord One thousand seven hundred & Ninety two, make & publish this my last will & testament in manner following:  First, at the request of my wife Ruth Sephton, I give unto my son Hugh Sephton, that Chest, feather bed, chaff bed, & that pair of linen sheets, all which were my said wife’s before our marriage, and my two armed popular chain.         Also, I give & bequeath unto my said wife Ruth Sephton the use of all the rest of my estate, money & effects, that is to say, One annuity, …. yearly rent, or sum of six pounds of lawful money of Great Britain, for & during the term of her natural life, to be issuing & payable out of my said estate, money & effects, & to be paid & payable by equal quarterly payments, on the first day of January, on the first day of April, on the first day of July, & on the first day of October, the first payment thereof to be on such of the said days as shall first & next happen after my decease, & from & immediately after the decease of my said wife Ruth Sephton I order & direct my said Estate, money & effects to be divided into five equal parts or shares, & give & bequeath the same in manner following:  First, I give & bequeath unto my said son Hugh Sephton one fifth part or share of my said Estate, money & effects, to be paid unto him my said son Hugh Sephton, or his assigns, immediately after the decease of my said wife Ruth Sephton.

 

Also, I give & bequeath unto my daughter Ruth Glover, one other fifth part or share of my said Estate money & effects, to be paid unto her my said daughter Ruth Glover, or her assigns, immediately after the decease of my said wife Ruth Sephton.

 

Also, I give & bequeath unto my daughter Johanna Leyland, one other fifth part or share of my said Estate, money & effects, to be paid unto her my said daughter Johanna Leyland, or her assigns immediately after the decease of my said wife Ruth Sephton.

 

Also, I give & bequeath unto my daughter Elisabeth Sutton, if she shall survive her husband Peter Sutton, one other fifth part or share of my said Estate money & effects, to be paid unto her my said daughter Elisabeth Sutton immediately upon the death of her said husband Peter Sutton, & if ny said daughter Elisabeth Sutton shall happen to die before her said husband Peter Sutton, then I give & bequeath the said one fifth part or share of my said Estate money & effects, immediately after her decease unto my said son Hugh Sephton & my said daughters Ruth Glover, Johanna Leyland & Christian Tyrer, or their assigns, to be divided equally among them;  & I authorize & impower, & direct my Executors hereinafter named, & their executors, from & after the decease of my said wife Ruth Sephton until the death of the said Peter Sutton, or of my said daughter Elisabeth Sutton, which shall first happen, to manage & improve the fortune of her the said Elizabeth Sutton, by one hereby given her, at their discretion.

 

Also, I give & bequeath unto my daughter Christian Tyrer, one other fifth part or share of my said Estate, money & effects, to be paid unto her my said daughter Christian Tyrer, at such time & in such manner & proportion as my executors hereinafter named, may, at their discretion, see necessary, & shall think fit, & her receipt shall be unto them a full & sufficient discharge & acquittance against all claims & demands of her husband William Tyrer, of all such sum of money, as she, either in part or full of the said legacy, shall receive;  and if my said daughter Christian Tyrer shall happen to die before she has received the whole or part of the said Legacy, by me hereby given her, then I give & bequeath the same, whither whole, or part, or whatsoever the same shall then happen to be, unto my grandson Hugh Tyrer, son of the said Christian Tyrer, to be paid unto him the said Hugh Tyrer, or his Assigns, immediately upon his said mother’s decease.  And I do hereby constitute and appoint my said son Hugh Sephton & my son in law Ralph Leyland Executors of this my last Will & testament;  In witness whereof, I have hereunto set my hand & seal the day & year first above written.

 

Signed, declared & published as & for his last will & testament, in the presence of us:

 

Catharine Shuttleworth                                              Hugh       [Seal]    Sephton

 

John Webster                                                                    his   X    mark

 

Matthew Robinson

 

The 24th Day of March 1794, Hugh Sephton and Ralph Leyland, the Executors within named, were sworn in common Form,

 

before me,

 

Above 100 & under 300                                                  R:  Carr, Surrogate

 

Prob:  issued

 

10th of April 1794

1 thought on “Transcript of the will of Hugh Sephton”

Leave a Reply

